Dead on Target: An Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin Mysteries #34) (Hardcover)

Dead on Target: An Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin Mysteries #34) By M. C. Beaton, R.W. Green Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 34 in the Agatha Raisin Mysteries series.


Beloved New York Times bestseller M. C. Beaton's cranky, crafty Agatha Raisin—the star of her own hit T.V. series—is back on the case again in Dead on Target.

A visit to the local village fete for a spot of fun and relaxation turns into a nightmare for Agatha Raisin when she discovers the body of the local landowner in the woods―with an arrow in his chest and trousers round his ankles.

Agatha’s old adversary, Detective Chief Inspector Wilkes, declares the death a tragic accident, believing the victim has been hit by a stray arrow from an archery demonstration. Agatha is convinced of foul play, however, and is shocked when Wilkes eventually agrees...with her as his prime murder suspect.

Determined to clear her name and find the real killer, Agatha launches her own investigation, quickly becoming involved with a family at war, an unscrupulous gangster―and a killer who is determined to make her the next victim...

About the Author

M. C. Beaton (1936-2019), the “Queen of Crime” (The Globe and Mail), was the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Agatha Raisin novels -- the basis for the hit show on Acorn TV and public television -- as well as the Hamish Macbeth series and the Edwardian Murder Mysteries featuring Lady Rose Summer. Born in Scotland, she started her career writing historical romances under several pseudonyms and her maiden name, Marion Chesney.

In 2006, M.C. was the British guest of honor at Bouchercon.

A long-time friend of M. C. Beaton, R.W. GREEN has written numerous works of fiction and non-fiction. He lives in Surrey with his family and a black Labrador called Flynn.

Praise For…

"R.W. Green shares an exciting, pacy tale of Agatha... If you’ve never read this type of cosy crime with a sardonic grin (and a taste for gin), I advise you to do so." —The Belfast Telegraph

"Delightful." —Woman's World, Best New Books on Devil's Delight

“This mystery's got everything." —USA Today on Devil's Delight

"Trademark Beaton." —Booklist (starred) on Down the Hatch

"Green...ably continues the adventures of private detective Agatha Raisin, thorn in the side of conservative Cotswold society, in the diverting 32nd installment of this bestselling series...The prose sparkles as usual."
Publishers Weekly on Down the Hatch

"Superb." —Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Hot to Trot

"Once you meet Agatha Raisin, you'll keep coming back." —New York Journal of Books

"M.C. Beaton has a foolproof plot for the village mystery." —The New York Times Book Review

"Beaton has a winner in the irrepressible, romance-hungry Agatha." —Chicago Sun-Times

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250898647
ISBN-10: 1250898641
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: September 19th, 2023
Pages: 256
Language: English
Series: Agatha Raisin Mysteries