Agatha Raisin and the Haunted House: An Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin Mysteries #14) (Paperback)

Agatha Raisin and the Haunted House: An Agatha Raisin Mystery (Agatha Raisin Mysteries #14) By M. C. Beaton Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 14 in the Agatha Raisin Mysteries series.


Agatha Raisin and the Haunted House continues the tradition in M. C. Beaton's beloved Agatha Raisin cozy mystery series—now a hit show on Acorn TV and public television.

Just back from an extended stay in London, Agatha Raisin finds herself greeted by torrential rains and an old, familiar feeling of boredom. When her handsome new neighbor, Paul Chatterton, shows up on her doorstep, she tries her best to ignore his obvious charms, but his sparkling black eyes and the promise of adventure soon lure her into another investigation.

Paul has heard rumors about Agatha's reputation as the Cotswold village sleuth and wastes no time offering their services to the crotchety owner of a haunted house. Whispers, footsteps, and a cold white mist are plaguing Mrs. Witherspoon, but the police have failed to come up with any leads, supernatural or otherwise. The neighbors think it's all a desperate ploy for attention, but Paul and Agatha are sure something more devious is going on. Someone's playing tricks on Mrs. Witherspoon, and when she turns up dead under suspicious circumstances, Agatha finds herself caught up in another baffling murder mystery.

About the Author

M. C. Beaton (1936-2019), the “Queen of Crime” (The Globe and Mail), was the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Agatha Raisin novels -- the basis for the hit show on Acorn TV and public television -- as well as the Hamish Macbeth series and the Edwardian Murder Mysteries featuring Lady Rose Summer. Born in Scotland, she started her career writing historical romances under several pseudonyms and her maiden name, Marion Chesney.

In 2006, M.C. was the British guest of honor at Bouchercon.

Praise For…

“What makes readers love Agatha Raisin?...Somehow this cranky middle-aged dame's many flaws only make her more appealing.” —Booklist

“[Beaton's] imperfect heroine is an absolute gem!” —Publishers Weekly

“Once more, a murder mystery saves Agatha from the threat of boredom. It seems that handsome neighbor Paul has offered their investigative services to the owner of a reputedly haunted house. When the owner turns up dead, the pair know for sure something's going on. Another delightful series adventure.” —Library Journal

“Curmudgeonly but lovable Agatha Raisin cheerfully grouses her way through the English countryside in this cozy mystery. What at first seems to be a rather routine murder case gathers twists and turns--and a few more bodies--as it moves along.... Agatha is as on the mark as ever, and so is her author.” —RT Book Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250094018
ISBN-10: 1250094011
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: June 26th, 2007
Pages: 272
Language: English
Series: Agatha Raisin Mysteries