Dis Mem Ber and Other Stories of Mystery and Suspense (Paperback)

Dis Mem Ber and Other Stories of Mystery and Suspense Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


In the seven feverishly unsettling works that compose DIS MEM BER and Other Stories of Mystery and Suspense, Joyce Carol Oates focuses on the inner lives of vulnerable girls and women, some victimized, others provoked--by deep emo-tional unrest--to commit violence against others.

In the title story, a precocious eleven-year-old is in thrall to an older male relative--the mysterious, attractive black sheep of the family--and climbs into his sky-blue Chevy to be driven to an uncertain, and unforgettable, fate. In the Bram Stoker Award-winning short story, "The Crawl Space," a widow obsessively re-turns to the house she once shared with her husband, until an invitation from the new owners to come inside takes a turn for the menacing. In "The Drowned Girl," a university transfer student becomes increasingly obsessed with the drowning/murder of another female student as her own sense of self begins to deteriorate. And in the final story, "Welcome to Friendly Skies," a trusting group of bird-watchers is borne to a remote part of the globe--and to a harrowing fate. This is an arresting fiction collection from "one of the great writers of our time" (John Gardner).

About the Author

Joyce Carol Oates is the author of such national bestsellers as The Falls, Blonde, and We Were the Mulvaneys. Her other titles for the Mysterious Press include The Doll-Master and Other Tales of Terror, Jack of Spades, and The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares, which won the 2011 Bram Stoker Award for Short Horror Fiction. She is the recipient of the National Book Award for them and the 2010 President's Medal for the Humanities.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780802128119
ISBN-10: 0802128114
Publisher: Mysterious Press
Publication Date: June 19th, 2018
Pages: 256
Language: English