One Dangerous Night: A Gambler's Daughters Romance (The Gambler's Daughters #2) (Mass Market)

One Dangerous Night: A Gambler's Daughters Romance (The Gambler's Daughters #2) By Cathy Maxwell Cover Image
$9.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


The second book in New York Times bestselling author Cathy Maxwell’s humorous and heartwarming series The Gambler’s Daughters, in which three aristocratic Irish sisters are determined to make their ways in Regency London...only to learn the path to making a brilliant society marriage isn’t easy—especially when Love gets in the way. Here, a disaster in a storm throws headstrong sister Elise into the company, and arms, of a rake on the run.

Elise Lanscarr is furious—her very own sister has married the man Elise had marked for herself. Feeling betrayed, she flees London, determined to return to the one place where everything was once as it should be: her family home in Ireland. But when her stagecoach crashes in a storm, she finds herself cast adrift in the wilds with no one to help but a rough-looking, albeit handsome, stranger—one who has obviously never been informed of the “proper” rules of society.

Christopher Fitzhugh-Cox, the missing Duke of Winderton, has fled all responsibility, preferring the persona of the devil-may-care rake “Kit.” He proudly lives hand-to-mouth, rubbing shoulders with commoners and thieves alike. But while he values his freedom, he’s never been one to leave a lady in trouble—even one as opinionated, albeit intriguing, as Elise.

But this night of booming thunder and flashing lightning is just the beginning of an unexpected, often dangerous, adventure. And two disillusioned souls who have been caught up in their own webs of expectations and disappointments are about to learn that life always holds surprises, and gifts. And all it asks in return is that they risk everything for Love . . . 

About the Author


Cathy Maxwell spends hours in front of her computer pondering the question, “Why do people fall in love?” It remains for her the great mystery of life and the secret to happiness. You can find her on Facebook and Instagram at maxwellcathy. She is a world class procrastinator so, if you yak at her, she usually yaks back.

Praise For…


“I love Cathy Maxwell!” — Julia Quinn 

“[A]n intricate, enchanting historical romance, full of rich detail and witty dialogue. … This novel will appeal to readers seeking Regency romance with an adventurous road-trip twist. Recommended for fans of Candace Camp, Mary Balogh, and Amita Murray.” — Library Journal

“With its captivating characters, spot-on plotting spiced with a hint of dangerous political intrigue, and simmering sensuality, this is no gamble for historical romance fans who will find that this is a great start to Maxwell’s (His Lessons in Love, 2022) new Gambler’s Daughters series.”  — Booklist on A Kiss in the Moonlight

“With likable and engaging characters—whose repartee will have readers laughing out loud—this fast-paced romance has all the elements readers savor. Maxwell hits the mark once more.” — RT Book Reviews (top pick) on A Kiss in the Moonlight

A Kiss in the Moonlight is a great start to a new series with a likable hero and heroine, an easy plot, and enjoyable side characters.” — Fresh Fiction



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063241213
ISBN-10: 0063241218
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: March 26th, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: The Gambler's Daughters