Lily's Promise (Hardcover)

Lily's Promise Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
BWAY
1 on hand, as of Oct 21 7:04pm
(MIDDLE GRADE/C)

Description


From National Book Award–winning author Kathryn Erskine comes a heartfelt, poignant novel that tackles grief, change, and the struggle to let your voice be heard. Perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Erin Entrada Kelly, and Ali Benjamin.

Shy, eleven-year-old Lily made her dad an important promise before he passed away—that she would “Strive for Five” and speak her mind at least five times. But speaking up one time, let alone five, is easier said than done. It’ll be even harder now that Lily must attend public school for the first time. Fortunately, she meets curling-obsessed Hobart and quiet Dunya at the beginning of sixth grade. Their kindness gives Lily hope that life without Dad might just be bearable.

But when Lily and her friends are bullied by Ryan and his mean clique, she quickly discovers the true meaning of friendship and speaking out. Despite the anxiety she feels, Lily knows she needs to stand up for herself and others. And she’ll use the tools her dad gave her to not only keep her final promise but bring her whole school together.

Following Lily’s journey and the snarky, insightful, and humorous commentary from Libro, the actual book, who guides readers through this thoughtful tale, makes Lily’s Promise a strong title for social emotional learning. 

About the Author


Kathryn Erskine is the author of several acclaimed books for young adults and children, including the National Book Award–winning middle grade novel Mockingbird. She lives in Virginia. Visit her website at www.kathrynerskine.com.

Praise For…


"Erskine aptly conveys Lily’s inner struggle between her reserved demeanor and her desire to stand up to bullying. The metafiction appearance between chapters of 'Libro,' the voice of the physical book, adds humor and draws attention to the literary craft. Even the quietest readers will cheer." 

Kirkus Reviews

"A well-told tale, with a clear understanding of bullying and empathy for all involved."
Booklist

"Erskine effectively captures Lily’s struggles to find her voice. A touching novel that will leave readers cheering for Lily’s quiet victories."
Publishers Weekly

“Curious kids who love books will enjoy joining this welcoming group of friends as they learn about the world we share.” 
— School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780063058156
ISBN-10: 0063058154
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: May 18th, 2021
Pages: 288
Language: English