Fathermucker: A Novel (Paperback)

Fathermucker: A Novel By Greg Olear Cover Image
$13.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


“All kinds of funny—raucously, wickedly, sweetly, saucily, surprisingly, profanely funny…a wonderful novel.”
—Jess Walter, author of The Financial Lives of the Poets

“Deft and funny, true and real. If you read one book this year, read this one.”
—Molly Jong-Fast, author of The Social Climber’s Handbook

Senior editor at the online literary magazine The Nervous Breakdown and author of Totally Killer, author Greg Olear brings us a not-so-typical day in the life of stay-at-home dad Josh Lansky, juggling myriad fatherly responsibilities while dealing with the maddening realization that his  away-on-business wife just might be having an affair. Fathermucker is a sweet, heartrending, often hilarious look at family life from the dad’s perspective that Nick Hornby fans will most certainly respond to. As Jessica Anne Blau, author of Drinking Closer to Home and The Summer of Naked Swim Parties so insightfully points out, “Only a writer with the verve, daring, and great talent of Greg Olear could pull off a novel that deals with sippy cups, masturbation, autism spectrum disorder, affairs, and play-dates all at once.”

About the Author


Greg Olearis the senior editor of the lit blog The Nervous Breakdown and the author of the novel Totally Killer. His work has appeared in therumpus.net, Babble.com,themillions.com, Chronogram, and Hudson Valley Magazine. A professor of creative writing at Manhattanville College, he lives with his family in New Paltz, New York.

Praise For…


“Fierce and funny” — Washington Post

“Fathermucker is witty, realistic, and charming, replete with a father’s genuine love for his family. An entertaining choice for book clubs members of both genders, particularly those with young children.” — Library Journal

“This brilliantly insightful novel explores the trials of modern fatherhood through one hectic day... Littered with hilariously genuine anecdotes, parental pathos, and a hearty dose of pop culture, this clever, comic, and compassionate novel will appeal to fans of Jim Lindberg and Jonathan Evison.” — Booklist

“A lively and keenly observed portrait of twenty-first century parenthood.” — Penthouse

“All kinds of funny-raucously, wickedly, sweetly, saucily, surprisingly, profanely funny…a wonderful novel, capturing in a single manic day the helpless ache of parenthood and the ceaseless flood of popular culture.” — Jess Walter, author of The Financial Lives of the Poets



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062059710
ISBN-10: 0062059718
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: October 4th, 2011
Pages: 320
Language: English